Flyin’ West at Clarice Smith, Nov 1-9

Flyin’ West at Clarice Smith, Nov 1-9

Flyin’ West
Scot Reese, co-director
Alvin Mayes, co-director
Written by Pearl Cleage

November 1 – 9, 2019

Fri, Nov 1, 2019 . 7:30PM
Sun, Nov 3, 2019 . 2:00PM
Sun, Nov 3, 2019 . 7:30PM
Wed, Nov 6, 2019 . 7:30PM
Thu, Nov 7, 2019 . 7:30PM
Fri, Nov 8, 2019 . 7:30PM
Sat, Nov 9, 2019 . 2:00PM
Sat, Nov 9, 2019 . 7:30PM

Venue: Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center. Kogod Theatre, reserved seating.

Set in 1898, Flyin’ West is the vivid and spirited story of African American women pioneers who settle together in the all-black town of Nicodemus, KS. After emancipation, the play’s four women have taken advantage of the Homestead Act to leave the oppressive South in hopes of finding the freedom that had been denied to them for so long. Cleage’s work explores themes of determination, racial pride, intermarriage and the power of love to highlight the female empowerment that she sees as vital to the African American community.

Tickets: Regular $25, Student/Youth $10. Click here.

The Wild Party at Clarice Smith, Nov 4-11

The Wild Party at Clarice Smith, Nov 4-11

The Wild Party
Book, Music and Lyrics by Andrew Lippa
Based on the Poem by Joseph Moncure March
Directors Scot Reese and Alvin Mayes
November 4-11, 2016

Fri, Nov 4, 2016 . 7:30PM
Sat, Nov 5, 2016 . 2:00PM
Sat, Nov 5, 2016 . 7:30PM
Sun, Nov 6, 2016 . 2:00PM
Tue, Nov 8, 2016 . 7:30PM
Wed, Nov 9, 2016 . 7:30PM
Thu, Nov 10, 2016 . 7:30PM
Fri, Nov 11, 2016 . 7:30PM

Venue: Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center. Kogod Theatre, general admission.

When Queenie and Burrs set out to throw the party to end all parties, their motives aren’t exactly pure. Each intent on driving the other wild with jealousy, the night escalates into a deadly game of one upmanship. With a jazz-steeped score by the Tony and Grammy-nominated Andrew Lippa (The Addams Family, Big Fish), this firecracker of a musical holds nothing back.

Tickets: General Public $25, Student/Youth $10, NextLEVEL $20. Buy tickets here.

The Me Nobody Knows at Clarice Smith, Oct 10-17

The Me Nobody Knows at Clarice Smith, Oct 10-17

The Me Nobody Knows
Based on the book The Me Nobody Knows
​Music by Gary William Friedman
Lyrics by Will Holt
October 10-17, 2014
Adapted Robert Livingston and Patrik Widrig
Additional lyrics Herb Schapiro
Arrangements and orchestration Gary William Friedman
Co-directors Alvin Mayes and Scot Reese
Musical director L. Richmond Sparks​

Venue: Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center.

Fri, Oct 10, 2014 . 7:30PM
Sat, Oct 11, 2014 . 2:00PM
Sat, Oct 11, 2014 . 7:30PM
Sun, Oct 12, 2014 . 2:00PM
Tue, Oct 14, 2014 . 7:30PM
Wed, Oct 15, 2014 . 7:30PM
Thu, Oct 16, 2014 . 7:30PM
Fri, Oct 17, 2014 . 7:30PM

Tickets: Regular: $25, Student: $10. Kay Theatre, Reserved Seating.

Description: Portrayed within the span of a single day, The Me Nobody Knows poetically examines the aspirations and fears of a multi-racial cast of young people.

Inspired by actual writings of students, their stories are universal. In these students’ struggles lies their hope, and ours. They are the voices of change. The musical score combines rock music, classical fugues, rap and jazz that inspire passion and transformation.

The Me Nobody Knows is Tony-nominated and OBIE Award-winning. The Me Nobody Knows is presented through special arrangement with SAMUEL FRENCH, INC.