Noises Off at Clarice Smith, Feb 21-29

Noises Off at Clarice Smith, Feb 21-29

Noises Off
Written by Michael Frayn
Kathryn Chase Bryer, director

February 21 – 29, 2020

Fri, Feb 21, 2020 . 7:30PM
Sat, Feb 22, 2020 . 2:00PM
Sat, Feb 22, 2020 . 7:30PM
Sun, Feb 23, 2020 . 2:00PM
Wed, Feb 26, 2020 . 7:30PM
Thu, Feb 27, 2020 . 7:30PM
Fri, Feb 28, 2020 . 7:30PM
Sat, Feb 29, 2020 . 2:00PM

Venue: Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center. Kay Theatre, reserved seating.

What else could go wrong? Tensions run high as Lloyd Dallas, the director of this play’s play-within-a-play, struggles to prepare his accident-prone cast for the opening of British bedroom comedy Nothing On. Missed cues, jealous lovers, a lost contact lens and a troublesome plate of sardines all conspire to ruin the performance. Michael Frayn’s award-winning farce details the hilarity that ensues behind the scenes of a theatrical production as characters attempt to untangle the chaos and salvage the play.

“The most dexterously realized comedy ever about putting on a comedy. A spectacularly funny, peerless backstage farce. This dizzy, well-known romp is festival of delirium.” — The New York Times

Tickets: Regular $25, Student/Youth $10. Click here.

A Doll House at Clarice Smith, Feb 7-15

A Doll House at Clarice Smith, Feb 7-15

A Doll House
Written by Henrik Ibsen
Kathryn Chase Bryer, director

February 7 – 15, 2020

Fri, Feb 7, 2020 . 7:30PM
Sat, Feb 8, 2020 . 7:30PM
Sun, Feb 9, 2020 . 2:00PM
Wed, Feb 12, 2020 . 7:30PM
Thu, Feb 13, 2020 . 7:30PM
Fri, Feb 14, 2020 . 7:30PM
Sat, Feb 15, 2020 . 2:00PM
Sat, Feb 15, 2020 . 7:30PM

Venue: Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center. Dance Theatre, general admission.

Performed by an all-female cast, this production of Henrik Ibsen’s classic A Doll House questions the roles that society assigns to men and women. Set in late nineteenth-century Norway, the play follows Nora, a woman who seeks self-fulfillment and slams the door on the dollhouse that is her marriage. This fresh perspective on the classic play encourages audiences to question what has changed since 19th-century Europe through the interpretations of six women actors playing male and female characters.

Note: This production uses an alternative translation of the title, A Doll House, rather than the more commonly known title, A Doll’s House.

Join us for a post-performance discussion on Sunday, February 9 following the 2PM performance. Panelists TBD.

Tickets: Regular $25, Student/Youth $10. Click here.